• Private login

    Continue in browser

    Log in to get an overview of your purchases, upcoming payments and settle them easily with one click.

  • Business login

    Log in to manage your orders, payout reports, store statistics, and general settings.

Announcement of change to the Board of Directors at Klarna Bank AB

February 22, 2018




22 February 2018 – Klarna Bank AB is pleased to announce the appointment of Niklas Savander to the Board of Directors with effect from Thursday 22nd of February 2018. Niklas Savander will replace Niklas Adalberth.

Sebastian Siemiatkowski, CEO and co-founder of Klarna: “After 13 years and many, many professional and personal milestones together, I want to thank Niklas Adalberth for his vision, leadership and commitment which has been an essential part of building Klarna into who we are today. I want to wish Niklas the the very best with the exciting new venture.

I am delighted to welcome Niklas Savander to the Klarna Board. Niklas understands the power of technology to reimagine and ultimately change our daily lives. His rich professional experience will be of tremendous value to Klarna and as we pursue on our mission to create the smoothest shopping experience for our merchants and customers.”

Niklas Savander is currently chairman of Cint and member of the Board of Zervant, as well as an independent director of Verne Global. In addition he is a Senior Adviser to the Private Equity and Venture Capital industry. Niklas previously served on the boards of Nebula, NokiaSiemensNetworks, Symbian, Navteq, NokiaNeu Communitech and Tamfelt. Niklas also has extensive executive experience as President and CEO of Elekta, COO for Nokia as well as senior leadership roles in Nokia Networks and Hewlett Packard in Finland, Germany, and Switzerland.

Niklas Adalberth, founder of Norrsken and co-founder of Klarna: “I am looking forward to be able to fully focus on Norrsken and support entrepreneurs that look to solve our greatest societal challenges. I am very pleased that it is Niklas Savander who will join the Klarna Board. The combination of his operational experience and extensive board assignments will strongly contribute to the continued growth of the company.”

Niklas Savander added: “I am thrilled to be joining the Klarna Board. I have long followed and admired the remarkable Klarna journey from a local innovative e-commerce solution to a global brand. When I was asked to join, I accepted because I truly believe in what the company is trying to achieve. I look forward to working with Sebastian and the team to continue accelerate our progress.”


Following the changes, the Klarna Board will comprise of:

Jon Kamaluddin (Chairman of the Board)

Sebastian Siemiatkowski (CEO and Board member)

Sarah McPhee

Sir Michael Moritz

Mikael Walther

Niklas Savander

Andrew Young






About Klarna

Klarna is one of Europe’s leading payments providers and fully licensed bank, which wants to revolutionise the payment experience for shoppers and merchants alike. Founded in Stockholm, Sweden, in 2005, we offer a simple, safe and smoooth checkout experience. Klarna now works with 89,000 merchants to offer solutions to more than 60 million of users in Europe and North America. Klarna has 1,700 employees and is active in 14 countries. Klarna is backed by investors such as Sequoia Capital, Bestseller Group, Atomico, VISA and Permira.’




Aoife Houlihan, VP of Communications

+46 (0) 72855 8047